Library Services (off campus)
Whether you come to one of our campus locations or use the library from home, the GHC library is here to help you fulfill your learning and research needs. The library's homepage gives you access to a wealth of resources and assistance and is the best place to start your search for information. To learn how to use the library for college level work, visit IRIS. For help specific to off campus use, see our Frequently Asked Questions below or ask a librarian.
To access the library’s e-books and databases from off campus, you will need to log-in.
- USERNAME: This is the first initial of your first name followed by your entire last name, then add "@my.ghc.edu"
EXAMPLE: John Smith, SID 123456789
Username is: firstname.lastname@example.org
- PASSWORD: This is the initials of your first and last name, immediately followed by your entire SID.
EXAMPLE: John Smith, SID 123456789
If you encounter any problems accessing the library’s databases from home, please contact a reference librarian.
On the library’s homepage, you can search the library catalog for books, e-books, media, magazine titles, journal titles, and more by entering the title, author, subject, or keyword in this search box:
You can differentiate amongst books, e-books, media items (DVDs, CDs, etc.), and periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and journals) in your search results by looking at the icon to the left of the title. The icon indicates library books and e-books, the icon indicates media items, and the icon indicates periodicals.
If the book (or media, etc.) you've found in the library catalog is already checked out or you are not at the Aberdeen campus, you can place a request for it.
To do this, click on the title of the item you've found in the catalog and then click the link in the right hand corner of the screen. You’ll need to enter your full student ID number and last name. We will hold the item when it gets returned and/or send it to the location you indicated (Aberdeen, Raymond, or Ilwaco).
If you cannot get to an outreach center, enter your contact information into the comments box and ask us to send the item directly to you. We can ship library material anywhere in the continental United States.
Over 20,000 full-text e-books are available to you through the library. They are listed in the library catalog, right along side our print books. Just look for E-Book in the call number and the Electronic Resource designation (example below).
When you click on an e-book title, you will see a link on the following screen. Click on this link and log-in to see the entire e-book.
To just search for e-books on your topic, mouse over the tab on the library’s homepage and click on ebooks. On the following page, click on .
You use the library's databases like E-BOOKS from Ebrary, Credo Reference, and Gale Virtual Reference Library, which give you access to hundreds of general and subject specific full-text reference e-books (including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and books of quotations) covering art, business, literature, psychology, science, social science, technology, and more.
To search these databases, mouse over the tab on the library’s homepage and click on ebooks. On the following page, scroll down the list and click on E-BOOKS from Ebrary, Credo Reference, or Gale Virtual Reference Library.
You use one of the library's databases. On the library’s homepage, you can search multiple databases for magazine, newspaper, and journal articles by entering a title, author, subject, or keyword in this search box:
(and logging-in on the following page)
OR you can choose a specific database to search by clicking on the tab, selecting All Sources, logging-in, and then selecting one or more databases from the list.
Many of the articles you find in the library's databases are available full-text (the entire article online) -- just look for a full-text link below the article title.
If you find an article in a database that is not fully online, click on the or link. This will check to see if we have a print copy of the article in the library or an electronic copy in another database.
If no copies are found, ask the reference librarian to order the article for you through our Inter-Library Loan service.
MLA and APA citation information and help are accessible in print and online. Copies of current MLA and APA manuals are available in the library and links to online citation help are available here.
Help from a reference librarian is available in person, by phone, e-mail, or 24/7 chat! Click here for all our contact information.
For general help:
The Canvas login page has information.
There are quite a few tutorials across the web (including YouTube), but you can also check out the official Canvas Student Help Guides written by Canvas staff. For instructional videos that are specfically for GHC students, check out our GHC Canvas Tutorials page.
For technical support:
Give us a call at 360.538.4050 or send us an email at email@example.com and one of our e-learning specialists will get back to you as soon as possible!
The GHC Media Lab can help answer your PowerPoint, film, audio, and photo editing questions and can arrange to lend you digital cameras, camcorders, and audio recording and transmitting equipment. Click here to learn more.
The GHC Learning Center offers e-Tutoring services, GHC Learning Links (free, easy to use web resources organized by subject), ModuMath (videos on a range of math topics), and more. Click here to learn more.
Still have questions? Contact a reference librarian!