Apps for specific subjectsAdditional Free Resources
ReadingMusic
Manage FilesTaking notesWritingPresenting
This is the "Library research" page of the "Mobile Devices: Apps for Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Chat with a Librarian

Mobile Devices: Apps for Research  

Last Updated: Feb 27, 2017 URL: http://ghc.libguides.com/mobile Print Guide RSS Updates

Library research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

GHC Subscription Databases and Resources

Cover Art
Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost
After you download the app, you'll need to do one more step to get content provided by the GHC Library. To do this, visit Academic Search Complete and click the link for the iPhone and Android apps at the bottom of the page. Free for iOS or Android.

Cover Art
ARTstor
Search nearly one million digitized images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. You must register for an ARTstor account from on campus first.
Get the app for Android or use the mobile site with iOS.

Cover Art
ebrary
Access over 34,000 full-text electronic books that you can read online or download! E-books are fully searchable and available on a range of topics. After signing in you can highlight text, make notes, save books, connect to dictionaries, and more. Install the popular Bluefire Reader and enjoy reading the books you've downloaded! Bluefire Reader is free for
Android and iOS.

Cover Art
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Access My Library
Access a collection of full-text subject reference books (including encyclopedias and handbooks) covering business, environment, history, literature and more. Search the entire collection by keyword or topic, or search within individual books.
Register for the app using your GHC email address.
Free for Android and iOS.

Cover Art
ProQuest Mobile
This is a mobile site - no need to download as an app. Access the full range of GHC's ProQuest databases: ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry; Criminal Justice Periodicals; Nursing & Allied Health; ProQuest Research Library and Washington State and National Newspapers.

Cover Art
ScienceDirect: Health, Life, Social & Behavioral Sciences
Access an extensive collection of journal articles (many full-text and all peer-reviewed) in science, technology, psychology, sociology and medicine.
Mobile site automatically adjusts to your device.

 

Created by

This guide was adapted and updated by Adrienne Roush and Emily Waugh, based on a guide by Nicole Hennig and Remlee Green at the MIT Libraries.

 

US Government Apps & Statistics

Cover Art
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook, produced for US policymakers and coordinated throughout the US Intelligence Community, presents facts, information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for about 250 world countries. Free for Android or $.99 for iOS.

Cover Art
Countable
Countable makes it quick and easy to understand the laws Congress is considering. They also streamline the process of contacting your lawmaker, so you can tell them how you want them to vote on bills under consideration. Use Countable to read clear and succinct summaries of upcoming and active legislation, to directly tell your lawmakers how to vote on those bills by clicking “Yea” or “Nay”, and to follow up on how your elected officials voted on bills. Android or iOS.

Cover Art
OECD Factbook
The OECD Data App presents 100 economic indicators in a format specially designed for smartphones. It provides a global overview of today’s major economic, social and environmental indicators. Free for Android or iOS.

Cover Art
United States Census Bureau: America's Economy
Take the pulse of the U.S. Economy straight from your phone. The America’s Economy app provides real-time updates for 19 key economic indicators released from the U.S. Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, and Bureau of Economic Analysis. Android or iOS.

Cover Art
United States Census Bureau: dwellr
City or country? Bike or drive to work? Beach or mountains? Download the U.S. Census Bureau’s dwellr app today to discover the top 25 U.S. cities and towns that best fit your lifestyle. Whether you prefer the bright lights of the big city or wide open spaces, dwellr powers your phone with neighborhood-level statistics on topics such as home values, education, and how people get to work so that you can explore where you want to dwell.
Android or iOS.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip